News & Calendars

Day 7



Varsity Wrestling Wins Eighth Consecutive TISAC Championship
Varsity Wrestling Wins Eighth Consecutive TISAC Championship

Coach Garrett Cummings and the Ravenscroft varsity wrestling team won their eighth consecutive TISAC Championship on Thursday, Feb. 11, at Cary Academy. Seven Ravenscroft wrestlers earned a conference championship, and four finished as runners-up.

"Our guys responded really well to coaching and practice this week, and our veteran wrestlers took care of business," Cummings said of the win. "We knew NRCA would be well-prepared and itching to pull off revenge wins in a few different weights. I thought we responded really well to that challenge and looked like savvy tournament wrestlers. Alejandro Alston '23's big-move first-period pin was a highlight and a fun moment to watch."

Senior Connor Phillips '21, who had to battle back in the third period to overcome an early deficit, was named Co-Wrestler of the Year as he remained undefeated in what Cummings described as "one of the tougher weights in conference."

"That was great to see!" he added. "Hopefully, with some fine-tuning, rest and refocusing, this win will help springboard us to perform well at States."

The team competes at the North Carolina Independent Schools Athletic Association Championships on Saturday, Feb. 27, at Providence Day School in Charlotte.

Congratulations to these Ravens for their performances at the conference championship:

Conference Champions (by weight class)
Henry Kopf '23 (106)

Alejandro Alston '23 (132)

Connor Phillips '21 (138)

Eric Belcea '22 (138)

Cole Phillips '21 (170)

David Gring '21 (182)

Fabrizzio Jimenez '21 (220)

Second-Place Finishers

Mikey Leaf '25 (113)

Mason Foster '23 (120)

Maks Bitman '24 (126)

Slade Goller '24 (160)

Below, clockwise from top left: Connor Phillips '21; David Gring '21; Phillips with his Co-Wrestler of the Year Award; the seven conference champions with their medals.