News & Calendars



Ravenscroft Wrestling Wins Fifth Consecutive TISAC Championship
Ravenscroft Wrestling Wins Fifth Consecutive TISAC Championship

The Ravenscroft Varsity Wrestling Team won their fifth consecutive Triangle Independent School Athletic Conference Championship Feb. 8 in the A.E. Finley Center. Coach Garrett Cummings had the team primed for a dominant performance. Calvin Atkeson '18 led nine Ravenscroft wrestlers as TISAC champions and was selected by the conference coaches as the Wrestler of the Year.

"We tend to see the scores of the bouts tighten at the end of year, as the wrestlers in the conference are really familiar with each other. That becomes a challenge especially when you are favored in the match. Hats off to the North Raleigh and Cary Academy coaches, who had their guys prepared really well to wrestle us at every weight," said varsity wrestling coach Garrett Cummings. "I was really pleased that we were able to find a way to get our hands raised and hold the trophy, even if that meant settling for a decision or competing when we were not feeling 100%. That's tournament wrestling — survive and advance. We'll need to tap into that grittiness and mindset at States and Prep Nationals. I am very proud of the resolve of this team and congratulate their efforts on a fifth straight conference title."

Team Scores

1st: Ravenscroft

2nd: Cary Academy

3rd: North Raleigh Christian

Individual winners by weight class and result

Connor Phillips '21 (106 lb.): Wins by forfeit

Sam Tabet '19 (113 lb.): Wins by major decision 12-2

Cole Phillips '21 (120 lb.): Wins by pin at 2:20

Welden DeMent '18 (132 lb.): Wins by pin at 0:45

Ben Schwarz '18 (170 lb.): Wins by pin at 0:55

Davis MacNabb '19 (182 lb.): Wins match 8-1

Isaac Lamb '19 (190 lb.): Wins by pin at 1:45

Fabrizzio Jimenez '21 (220 lb.): Wins by pin at 1:01

Calvin Atkeson '18 (285 lb.): Wins by pin at 3:40

The Ravens will travel to Wesleyan Christian Academy in High Point for the NCISAA State Tournament on Feb. 16-17.

Above, the team's championship winners; below, the Varsity Wrestling team; Calvin Atkeson '18 declared winner