News & Calendars



Ravenscroft Team Dominates at Future Chemists Competition
Ravenscroft Team Dominates at Future Chemists Competition

Defending their title from last year's competition, Ravenscroft's team of chemistry buffs once again dominated the Future Chemists of America Scholastic Tournament, hosted by Enloe Magnet High School's Future Chemists of America on Saturday, Feb. 17.

The event provides students who excel in science, and chemistry in particular, to compete and collaborate with like-minded high schoolers from across eastern North Carolina. High school students compete in both individual and team rounds that cover a wide variety of chemistry topics. Scores are tabulated based on students' performance on a comprehensive exam in one of two divisions: intermediate, based on the Honors Chemistry curriculum, and advanced, based on Advanced PlacementⓇ Chemistry. New this year, the poster presentation component challenges participants to create a visually appealing poster that addresses and discusses innovative research, current events or other interesting topics that directly relate to the theme of environmental sustainability.

Here are the outstanding results from the Ravenscroft team:

  • Tiffany Jiang '19 won first place and Elaina Miao '19 won second place in the poster competition. (Neither Tiffany nor Elaina could be there in person, so their posters were presented by Holly McCann '19 and Jon Li '19).
  • In the individual round for intermediate level, Lucy Hao '20 took first place and David Wei '20 took second place.
  • In the individual round for advanced level, Ravenscroft swept the medals, with Jackson Corigliano '19 in first place, Holly McCann '19 in second place and Varun Atree '19 in third place.
  • In the team competition, Ravenscroft also took the top three awards: the top team was Jon Li '19, Mark Li '20, Lucy Hao '20 and Fionna Provencher '18; Jackson Corigliano '19, Holly McCann '19, Varun Atree '19 and Eleanor Campbell '20 took second; and Katie Shearin '19, Samantha Doherty '19 and Isabella Bredwell '19 came in third.
  • Other Ravenscroft competitors included Charlotte Jones '19, Lauren Teague '19 and Xena Gray '19 in the advanced division and Shaurik Deshpande '20 in the intermediate division.

"I was proud not only of how well they performed on the tests but also with how many students were willing to give up their first weekend day of winter break to do chemistry!" teacher John Karny, the group's advisor, said. "I also appreciated how well my AP students collaborated with the Honors students in the team round. Everyone represented Ravenscroft and our science department well!"

Congratulations on a great performance!