News & Calendars



Ravenscroft Announces Transitions on Board of Trustees
Ravenscroft Announces Transitions on Board of Trustees

Ravenscroft has announced a leadership transition and several new members joining the Board of Trustees, which provides high-level governance and visioning around long-term strategic priorities.

Board chair Kevin Anderson '82 recently completed his three-year term, handing over the reins July 1 to fellow trustee Amy Batten.

Batten is a partner at the law firm of Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, L.L.P., where she currently serves as chair of its management committee, co-leader of its corporate team and co-leader of its public companies practice group. She holds a B.S. in Economics from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and a J.D. from Duke University School of Law. She and her husband, Dave, have a son who attends Ravenscroft.

"It is an honor to serve in this role alongside my fellow trustees," Batten said. "I look forward to working with the Board and Doreen Kelly to ensure that Ravenscroft continues to live out its mission and positions itself to support generations of students to come."

During Anderson's tenure, the Board focused on securing a financially sustainable future, including significant fundraising and planning for strategic priorities; furthering work around DE&I; and developing master campus planning to create and maintain transformational teaching and learning spaces. This important work will continue, Head of School Doreen Kelly said.

"Strong leadership and collaboration enhance our ability to deliver on our mission, allow for continuity in programming, and secure the ability to do so for generations to come. We are fortunate to have a talented team of committed volunteers governing our institution through service to the Board," she said in a recent communication shared with Ravenscroft stakeholders. "It has truly been a privilege to work with Kevin during his term as chair of our Board of Trustees. He embodies and models our Lead from Here citizen leadership ideals through his commitment to being a willing listener, an engaged collaborator, an effective facilitator and a passionate advocate of the Ravenscroft mission. We thank you, Kevin, for your service and your leadership."

Kelly also shared her appreciation for three trustees who have completed their terms: John Parham '84, Donna Preiss and Jim Ziperski. Six new members — Demetris Cheatham, Lizzie McNairy, Jenny Winston, Satish Mathan, Amir Mehr and Jeffrey Miller — bring key talent and diverse experience to the important work of various committees and the Board as a whole.

"As the Board continues to prioritize the financial sustainability of the school, campus master planning, our DE&I efforts — including the newly created Board Committee for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion — and student health and wellness, we are pleased with the wide variety and depth of experience this group represents," Kelly said. "We look forward to our good work together on behalf of our mission and, most especially, our students."

Learn more about all of the members of this group on our Board of Trustees webpage.