News & Calendars



Middle School Awards Ceremony Celebrates Achievements
Middle School Awards Ceremony Celebrates Achievements

The Middle School Awards Ceremony held Thursday, May 31, celebrated all students in grades six, seven and eight and recognized a number of students who have demonstrated outstanding character, citizenship and scholarship.

Denise Colpitts, head of the Middle School, welcomed everyone by talking about how Middle School has given students in each grade level increasing amounts of independence and responsibility. She applauded their effort, teamwork and determination.

Faculty and staff and special guest Larry Hines, parent to three Ravenscroft alumni, presented awards to students across many categories. In addition, Middle School Honor Council leaders Davis Anderson '22, Ethan Erikson '22 and Ryan Pretzer '22 and SGA co-presidents Samantha Schantz '22 and Anthony Fink '22 were recognized for their year of distinctive service and leadership. Samantha and Anthony transitioned the co-presidency by passing the gavel to Carter Anderson '23 and Jackson Gring '23, the incoming co-presidents.

Afterwards, students, faculty, staff and guests enjoyed refreshments provided by the Ravenscroft Parents' Association.

Congratulations to these students for their accomplishments! Enjoy photos from the ceremony on the Ravenscroft Flickr page.

Eighth-Grade Award Winners

Eighth Grade Scholar Award: Lindsey Carter '22

Ione D. Pegram Character Award: Rachel Mason '22 and Tosh Holdstock '22

Hunter Family Scholarship: Davis Anderson '22 and Heidi Segars '22

Eighth Grade DAR Youth Citizenship Medal: Gray Baker '22

Subject-Area Award Winners

Advanced Language Arts: Davis Anderson '22

CP Language Arts: Ella Jackson '22

World History: Sally Purrington '22

Science: Heidi Segars '22

Pre-Algebra: Georgia Winston '22

Algebra: Brandon Sisson '22

Honors Geometry: Michael Rutigliano '22

CP Geometry: Owen McGinnis '22

Latin: Jeremy Badger '22

Mandarin: Lily Tyler '22

Spanish: Ethan Erickson '22

STEM+: Oscar Schacht '22

Art: Bea Holdstock '22

Band: Diya Sharma '22

Drama: Rachel Mason '22

Choir: Zoe King '22

Stagecraft: Davis Anderson '22

Strings: Sarah Kim '22

P.E.: Ethan Carter '22 and Ellie Roberts '22

Seventh-Grade Award Winners

Seventh Grade Scholar Award: Sophie Thomas '23

Edward Yohman Character Award for Seventh Grade: Alex Richmond '23 and Nathan Skubic '23

Seventh Grade DAR Youth Citizenship Medal: Madison Anysz '23

Sixth-Grade Award Winners

Sixth-Grade Scholar Award: Tul Cherukuri '24

Layne Stirman Character Award for Sixth Grade: Alexa Gillon '24 and Andrew Abbott '24

Sixth Grade DAR Youth Citizenship Medal: Kyle Coats '24

Photos at right, counterclockwise from top left: Head of Middle School Denise Colpitts makes opening remarks; strings teacher Pam Kelly presents award to Sarah Kim '22; Head of School Doreen Kelly congratulates Tosh Holdstock '22, one recipient of the Ione D. Pegram Character Award; recipients of the DAR Youth Citizenship medal with presenter Larry Hines; eighth-grade math award winners.