News & Calendars



Alumni Association to Honor Winston and Muti, Open Art Exhibit Oct. 5
Alumni Association to Honor Winston and Muti, Open Art Exhibit Oct. 5

Kicking off Homecoming and Reunion Weekend, Oct. 5-6, 2018, the Ravenscroft Alumni Association will host its annual meeting on Friday, Oct. 5, starting at 11:30 a.m. in the new Keim Center for Innovation and Research (formerly the Library and Technology Center), followed by the opening of the first Alumni Art Exhibit.

The association will honor Charles M. Winston Jr. '78 with the Distinguished Alumni Award. A successful restaurateur best known as co-founder of Raleigh's Winston's Grille, Winston was among the first students to attend Ravenscroft after the North Raleigh campus was established in 1970. He served on the Board of Trustees from 2005-2015, serving as board chair, vice chair and member of the institutional advancement committee; and he and his wife, Jenny, recently completed their tenure as co-chairs of the Embrace Possibility campaign, which exceeded the five-year fundraising goal of $15M. He has served the institution in many other capacities over the years, including as assistant coach of the varsity lacrosse team and contributing sports photographer. As one among three generations of Winstons who have attended Ravenscroft — including his children, RuthAnne '18, Charlie '19 and Georgia '22 — Charles Winston has made invaluable contributions to the enduring legacy of Ravenscroft.

Also being honored at the luncheon is Jill Muti, former director of fine arts and assistant head of school, who will be inducted into the Ravenscroft Fine Arts Hall of Fame. Muti, an accomplished flutist and much-beloved music educator, elevated Ravenscroft's fine arts programs during her tenure here, inspiring families across campus to support the arts and advocating for the funding and construction of the Fine Arts Center, which opened in 1993. Her creation of the Faculty-Student Orchestra built bridges between current and former faculty, alumni, parents and students. She also spearheaded the development of several experiential immersion programs across Europe and the U.S., giving many Ravenscroft students an early glimpse of cities such as Prague, London and New York; and in 1998 launched, with her husband, Maestro Lorenzo Muti, the Spoleto Study Abroad program. Serving since 2004 as head of school at Ashley Hall, an independent college preparatory school located in Charleston, South Carolina, Muti remains an essential factor in the success of Ravenscroft's fine arts program.

After the luncheon, alumni in attendance are invited to a dessert reception marking the opening of the Alumni Art Exhibit, which will be held in the Pugh Family Lobby of the Fine Arts Center throughout October. A celebration of the power of visual arts for our students and alumni, the exhibit will feature the work of 19 Ravens, from the Class of 1973 through the Class of 2018 as well as Alumni Fine Arts Hall of Fame inductee Marriott Procter Little '47, a Tucker Street alumna.

"We want to showcase the many talented artists, both professional and amateur, who have been a part of our art department over the years," Tammy Haywood, director of alumni activities, said. "The Alumni Art Exhibit will also be a great connecter between artists across the decades."

Admission to the exhibit, which runs through Friday, Oct. 28, is free. Samples of the exhibited works and a full list of artists are below.

Alumni who would like to RSVP for the luncheon, buy a ticket for the Homecoming dinner, and/or sign up for class reunion events may do so here through Sunday, Sept. 30.

Clockwise from top left: Photo by Rachel Resner Arteaga '05; photo by Jack Morton '96; painting by Katie Hilbert Bardou '97. Above right, painting by Erica Arcudi '10

Artists Featured in the Alumni Art Exhibit

Erica Arcudi '10

Michael Dickson '01

Jack Morton '96

Rachel Ressner Arteaga '05

Emily Taylor Farrell '01

Holden Richards '79

Katie Hilbert Bardou '97

Brett Hightower '79

Sydnie Schwarz '16

Melissa Brown '89

Billy Howard '73

Emily Sikkel '15

Emerson Burkhardt '16

Cole Hudson '18

Stephen Smith '00

Allegra Dorafshar '10

Khrystyna Jacobs '08

Dasha Teyf '18

Marriott Procter Little '47